What is Stories in the Wall?

A major collaboration between Arts Centre Melbourne, Victorian Primary Schools, Professional Playwrights and University Student composers!

In Term 2, 2019, Arts Centre Melbourne engaged eight playwrights to run workshops in selected Victorian Primary Schools. Three of these schools were located in Melbourne – Spring Parks PS in Sunshine, Manorvale PS in Werribee and Sunshine North PS. We also travelled to Geelong to work with St Thomas Aquinas Norlane, and to East Gippsland where we worked with a group of seven small remote schools known as the TUBBS cluster which included Clifton Creek, Bruthen, Buchan, Metung, Nungurner, Swan Reach and Tambo Upper Primary Schools.

At each school upper primary students took part in 5 workshops with two playwrights. In the Melbourne region these were weekly workshops at each school. For the regional schools these were delivered through a combination of remote learning sessions and school visits.

During these workshops playwrights worked with students to develop original stories around the theme Another Self . This theme was inspired by Arts Centre Melbourne’s presentation of Laser Beak Man, and had students creating a wildly imaginative and diverse collection of characters, motivations and adventures. Students worked in groups to create their stories, and across the workshops turned them into radio play scripts. These were recorded at The Channel - Arts Centre Melbourne's learning and participation venue and at mobile studios set up at the regional primary schools.

Once the plays were recorded they were given to emerging composers from Melbourne University's Bachelor of Music: Interactive Composition who created original music and sound design for each story.

The Stories in the Wall installation is installed in the Arts Centre Melbourne foyer from 18 September to 6 October 2019, followed by seasons in Geelong and Bairnsdale.

How does my school get involved?

Email : schools@artscentremelbourne.com.au or apply online now here

Visit www.artscentremelbourne.com.au to explore our extensive schools, families and youth programming


Writers and Performers:

    Bruthen PS:

    Leah Calvert, Harrison Cooke, Toby Davis, William Davis, Bayleigh Deaves, Georgia Goodall, Jayden Hack, Tiah Hood, Beau Malosso, Skye McCorkell-Millard, Abbey Morgan, Joe Mullett, Oliver Purcell, John Reed & Stephanie Stevens.

    Bruthen PS:

    Chloe Cuskelly, Ella Earles, Stephanie Lewendon, James Lewendon & Jake Reynolds.

    Clifton Creek PS:

    Mitchell Clancy

    Manorvale PS:

    Qamar Abdul Kadir Assafa, Shaela Davidson, Max Dolheguy, Alicia Guerrieri, Sienna Harvey, Joel Hills, Harnoor Kaur, Atem Kur, Annis Kwa, Jada Lewis, Brodie Lower-Hughes, Lara Mitchell, Mekdes Mokenen, Joash Niuafe, Maddison Oak, Marni Oak, Jasmin Pelen, Jackie Phalla, Arika Rahman, Subi Subakya Kaur, Lilah Thompson, Anaru Walker, Liam Ward and Amelia Williams.

    Metung PS:

    Zane, Blake, Grace, Eden, Willow, Josh, Chase, Jake & Bea.

    Nungurner PS:

    Lachlan Davis, Sarah Martin, Jara Schaedle, Tahlia Tincknell & Trinity Whitfield.

    Spring Parks PS:

    Chloe Ban, Roman Chhien, Danielle Evans-Poulter, Christine Feng, Lyna Harun, Holly Huynh, Stephanie Huynh, Jordan Huynh-Lee, Kate Le, Everest Lim, Kalfu Llangkafilu, Jackie Ly, Delta Ly, Preston Mon, Cecilia Nguyen, Sorth Phala, Roger Sam, Great Sok, Somanea Sothear, Dell Tor, Lara Tran, Lia Tran, Nathan Tran & Moonsonica Ven.

    St Thomas Aquinas PS, Norlane:

    Makadie Baker, Rhys Cambridge, Daryl Carroll, Rachel Carter, Chanthida Chamroeun, Keisha Creswell, Lucas Davidge, Jackson Duniam-Tielens, Jaxon King, Nick Mclaren, Lachlan Morse, Jayda Patching, Rongotane Povey, Ngahuia Puru, Atunaisa Sau, Maddison Sennett, Raphael Sicat, Dean Smilevski & Christopher Stephenson.

    Sunshine North PS:

    Amelia Alderson, Isla Barlow, Louis Dang, Roque Dinh, Beckham Dinh, Allan Doung, Linda Doung, Feenet Elias, Jonathan Galvan, Isabella Huang, Damien Le, Ethan Lu, Karen Mieu, Charlotte Nagahesi, Vanessa Ngo, Binh Nguyen, Chloe Nguyen, Lina Nguyen, Tommy Nguyen, Daniel Nwosu, Hunter Pera-Spears, Tan Pham, Jamie Pham, Ann Pham, Nancy Pham, Rebecca Phoung, Chelsea Si, Melissa Tran, Huy Vo Tran & Sui Ungcuang.

    Swan Reach PS:

    Jet Chatwin, Tyra Chatwin, Zac Fredin, Jhet Gatt, Eva Goncharow, Connor Graham, Mia Grimwood, Rita Monteith, Eden Phillips & Lara Spink.

    Tambo Upper PS:

    Clay Squires, Abriella Jessop, Keara Cross, Alex Ottosson, Matthew Wood, Billy Elphick, Chelsea McCole, Caitlyn Kennedy, Darcie Reid, Sharna Hayden & Olive Blake.


    Ryan Basile, Jack Burton, Di Drew, Monica Lim, Sydney Miller, James O'Brien, Alex Olijnyk, Lachlan Phipps, Jack Ryan, Patrick Telfer & Phil Tucker

For Arts Centre Melbourne:

    Creative Producer

    Joshua Cowie

    Creative Learning Team

    Eva Popov & Zoe Rinkel

    University Intern

    Tim Hassall


    Jessica Bellamy, Amelia Evans, Dan Giovannoni, Rachel Perks, Morgan Rose, Oliva Satchell, Natesha Somasundaram and Chi Vu

    Foyer Installation Artwork

    Mattea Davies

    Website design and development

    Neelima Yazali

Inspired by Laser Beak Man by David Morton, Nicholas Paine and Tim Sharp with music by Sam Cromack (Ball Park Music)

Supporting partners:

    Arts Centre Melbourne acknowledges the support of the Department of Education and Training, Victoria, through the Strategic Partnerships Program.

    Artistic collaboration from the University of Melbourne’s Faculty of Fine Arts and Music. The proud home of the Victorian College of the Arts and Melbourne Conservatorium of Music.

Logo of the Department of Education and Training, Victoria